A long walk home

I have been ruminating the resucitation of my legless blog for some time, and I’d have liked to start on a more positive note, but this is a rather grim day.

Duplo, sixteen just yesterday has to all intents and purposes come to the end of his very long, full and I hope happy journey. Unreliable hind legs have all but given out and we have come to the inevitable, and the unthinkable.

As we walked to the village lavoir this morning, a 500 metre round trip and the sum of his twice daily exercise, a chance to take pleasure in the intensity of different odours that only a dog can. Even an old one. How I envy that nose as I continue my MW studies.

As we walked, I rang the vet. A time set for 15.30, seven and half hours to wait and see out, trying to balance the terrible injustice of departure and otherwise apparent good health. But reality is reality and all is for the well and good. Or so I have to tell myself.

44 years of constant black labrador presence comes to an end, as does the beautiful and loved Finbar, Emile, Duplo line.

It’s horrible. I hate it.

To fill in a bleak ten minutes this morning I stopped at a local wineshop to buy a bottle of Vin de Constance, a rebirth of South Africa’s famed and historic raisined Muscat wine, and an essential tasting wine I have been told. The package is stamped with a quotation from Jane Austin’s Sense and Sensability,

“A little Constantia…for its healing powers on a disappointed heart.”

It is as they say a big ask, but I can only hope. I will raise a small glass to endearing memory and the unuestioning love that is that of a dog.

With a heavy heart, santé.

About Matthew Hayes

Wine Merchant
This entry was posted in VF - Pour encourager les autres. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A long walk home

  1. Tara Q. Thomas says:

    Matthew, I’m so sorry! You know it’s the most loving thing you can do but th

  2. Chris Davis says:

    I’ll be thinking of you – tough day – take care,

    Chris

Leave a comment